Link to the start of the homepage Link to the overview over our solar system Link to the star Sun Link to the spacecrafts Link to the references and resources Link to the references and resources Switch over to the german language Control the graphics effects Link to the imprint page Write an E-Mail to the author Minimize the title bar
sol mercury venus earth mars asteroid jupiter saturn uranus neptune pluto comet
Glossary
Go to the bottom of the page
Placeholder
Placeholder
A small graphic for informations  
Absolute magnitude
The absolute magnitude Mvis of an astronomical object is the apparent magnitude an object would have if it were placed at a distance of 10 Parsec from the viewpoint. This magnitude is given as order of magnitude.
Albedo
The albedo is the reflectivity of an object. The albedo represents the ratio of reflected light to incident light.
Aphelion
The aphelion is the point in orbit where an object is the farthest from its central body. So the aphelion is also the maximum distance of an orbit. The opposite is the perihelion.
Apparent magnitude
Apparent magnitude mvis is a measure of the brightness of a celestial object as seen from Earth. The lower the number, the brighter the object. This magnitude is given as order of magnitude.
Astronomical Unit (AU)
The astronomical unit is the average distance from the Earth to the Sun.
1 AU = 149.597.870,61 km = 92.960.116 miles
Diameter
A celestial bodies diameter is the distance from its surface through the center of the body to the opposing surface, normally measured on the equator.
Eccentricity
The eccentricity measures the relation between maximum distance a (Aphelion) and minimum distance b (Perihelion) of an elliptical orbit. The eccentricity measures how far from a circular shape an elliptic orbit is.
Eccentricity e = √(a² - b²) / a.
Ecliptic
The ecliptic is the plane on which Earth moves on it orbit around the Sun.
Escape velocity
THe minimum speed needed to allow an object of small mass (e.g. a space probe) to escape the surface gravity of an object of larger mass is called escape velocity.
Force of gravity
The force of gravity is the force at which a large body attracts another object towards itself. All objects upon earth experience a force of gravity which is directed "downward" towards the center of the earth and is measured as 1 g = 9,78 m/s².
Inclination
The inclination of an objects orbit is the angle between the plane of its orbit and the ecliptic for objects orbiting the Sun. The inclination of planets satellite is the angle between the plane of its orbit and the plane of its primary bodies equator.
Kelvin
Kelvin is based on the absolute temperature scale. The absolute temperature minimum (0 K) is similar to -273,15 ° C in the centigrade scale.
0 K = -273,15 ° C = -460 F
0 ° C = 273,15 K = 32 F
Lightyear (ly)
The distance light travels in a year in a vacuum at the rate of 300.000 km/s is defined as a lightyear.
1 ly = 9.460.530 × 106 km = 63.239,74 AU
Oblateness
The measurement oblateness is the difference between a spheroid and a globe. The oblateness is calculated as the difference between polar diameter and equatorial diameter in relation to the equatorial diameter.
Oblateness a = (dequ - dpol) / dequ
Orbital velocity
The mean orbital velocity is the average speed of a planet or satellite in its orbit around the central body. The orbital velocity is at its minimum in the aphelion (maximum distance) and at its maximum in the perihelion (minimum distance).
Order of magnitude
The order of magnitude is the degree of brightness of a celestial body. The numerical classification 0 is reserved for the brightest stars like Vega. A difference of five orders of magnitude represents a difference in luminance of 100, each order of magnitude equals a multiplicator of 2,512.
Parsec (pc)
A parsec is defined as the distance from which the axis of Earth's orbit (1 Astronomical Unit) spans an angle of an arcsecond.
1 pc = 3,261633 ly
Perihelion
The pelihelion is the point in orbit where an object is closest to its central body. So the pelihelion is also the minimum distance of an orbit. The opposite is the aphelion.
Rotational period
The rotational period is the time a celestial body takes to rotate once on its axis with, respect to the stars. The rotational period is synchronous if it is identical to the orbital period, meaning the celestial body always shows the same side to its central body.
Rotational velocity
The rotational velocity of a planet of moon is the speed of this bodies rotational motion around its axis. The velocity is measured as the speed a point on the equator inherits on its rotational movement.
Sideric period
The siderial period is the period of revolution of one object (planet, asteroid or other satellite) around its central body measured relative to the stats. This period is measured on completion of an exactly 360° orbit.
Spectral type
The spectral type is the classification of a star according to its temperature as measured from the strengths of its spectral lines. This is also the order of luminosity and mass (most luminous and most massive to dimmest and least massive). In order of temperatures from hottest to coolest the spectral types are O, B, A, F, G, K, M.
Synodic period
The synodic period is the time required for a planet to go from a particular configuration as seen from Earth or respectively Sun, back to that same configuration again.

I am most grateful for every correction or sensible improvement of descriptions in this glossary. Please send them as E-Mail to me .
© 2018 by Bernd Onasch - Imprint Go to the top of the page
Placeholder
Placeholder

Glossar
Verweis auf den Anfang der Homepage Verweis auf die Übersicht über unser Sonnensystem Verweis auf den Stern Sonne Verweis auf die Raumsonden Verweis auf den Quellennachweis Verweis auf den Quellennachweis Wechseln zur englischen Sprache ndern der grafischen Effekte Verweis auf das Impressum E-Mail an den Autor schreiben Titelleiste verkleinern
sol mercury venus earth mars asteroid jupiter saturn uranus neptune pluto comet
Glossar
Zum Seitenende gehen
Placeholder
Placeholder
Eine kleine Grafik zur Information  
Abplattung
Die Abplattung ist das Maß der Abweichung von der Kugelform. Die Abplattung eines Himmelskörpers ist als Unterschied von Poldurchmesser zu Äquatordurchmesser relativ zum Äquatordurchmesser definiert.
Abplattung a = (dequ - dpol) / dequ
Absolute Helligkeit
Die absolute Helligkeit Mvis eines Objekts ist die Helligkeit, mit der ein Objekt aus einer Entfernung von 10 Parsec wahrgenommen wird. Diese normierte Helligkeitsangabe wird in Größenklassen angegeben.
Albedo
Das Albedo ist das Rückstrahlverhältnis eines astronomischen Objekts. Es beschreibt das Verhältnis zwischen reflektiertem Licht und bestrahlendem Licht.
Anziehungskraft (Gravitation)
Die Anziehungskraft bzw. Gravitation ist die Kraft, die auf einen Körper an der Oberfläche wirkt und ihn nach unten beschleunigt. Das Maß dieser Beschleunigung ist auf der Erde 1 g = 9,78 m/s².
Aphel
Unter Aphel versteht man die Position in der Umlaufbahn, bei der ein Objekt die maximale Entfernung zum Zentralkörper aufweist. Damit ist auch die maximale Entfernung einer Umlaufbahn gegeben. Das Gegenteil hierzu ist das Perihel.
Astronomische Einheit (AU)
Die Astronomische Einheit definiert die durchschnittliche Entfernung zwischen Sonne und Erde.
1 AU = 149.597.870,61 km
Bahngeschwindigkeit
Die Bahngeschwindigkeit beschreibt diejenige Geschwindigkeit mit der ein Planet oder Satellit seinen Zentralkörper umkreist. Diese Geschwindigkeit ist am größten, wenn der Abstand zum Zentrum minimal ist (Perihel) und geringsten, wenn der Abstand zum Zentrum maximal ist (Aphel).
Durchmesser
Der Durchmesser eines Himmelskörpers ist die Entfernung von Oberfläche über das Zentrum zur gegenüberliegenden Oberfläche, normalerweise gemessen am Äquator.
Ekliptik
Die Ekliptik ist die Ebene auf der sich die Bahn der Erde um die Sonne bewegt.
Exzentrität
Die Exzentrität ist ein Maß für das Verhältnis von maximalem Abstand a (Aphel) und minimalem Abstand b (Perihel) einer elliptischen Umlaufbahn. Die Exzentrität gibt an, wie weit die Umlaufbahn von einer Kreisbahn abweicht.
Exzentrität e = √(a² - b²) / a.
Fluchtgeschwindigkeit
Die Fluchtgeschwindigkeit oder Entweichgeschwindigkeit ist die Mindestgeschwindigkeit, die ein Objekt kleiner Masse (z.B. eine Raumsonde) erreichen muß, um das Schwerefeld des Objekts großer Masse verlassen zu können.
Größenklasse
Die Helligkeit von Sternen wird in Größenklassen angegeben. Der Klasse 0 sind dabei die allerhellsten Sterne, z.B. Vega, zugeordnet. Ein Unterschied von fünf Größenklassen entspricht einem Unterschied in der Leuchtkraft von einem Faktor von 100, wobei jede Größenklasse einem Multiplikator von 2,512 entspricht.
Inklination
Die Inklination ist der Winkel zwischen der Rotationsebene eines Objekts und einer Referenzebene, d.h. der Ekliptik für Satelliten der Sonne oder der Äquatorebene eines Planeten für seine Satelliten.
Kelvin
Kelvin ist die Temperatureinheit auf Basis der absoluten Temperaturskala. Der absolute Temperatur-Nullpunkt (0 K) entspricht in der Celsius-Skala dem Wert von -273,15 ° C.
0 K = -273,15 ° C = -460 F
0 ° C = 273,15 K = 32 F
Lichtjahr (ly)
Ein Lichtjahr ist die Strecke, die das Licht im Vakuum mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 300.000 km/s in einem Jahr zurücklegt.
1 ly = 9.460.530 × 106 km = 63.239,74 AU
Parsec (pc)
Ein Parsec ist definiert als die Entfernung, aus der die Bahnachse der Erde (1 Astronomische Einheit) einen Winkel von einer Bogensekunde aufspannt.
1 pc = 3,261633 ly
Perihel
Unter Perihel versteht man die Position in der Umlaufbahn, bei der ein Objekt die minimale Entfernung zum Zentralkörper aufweist. Damit ist auch die minimale Entfernung einer Umlaufbahn gegeben. Das Gegenteil hierzu ist das Aphel.
Rotationsgeschwindigkeit
Die Rotationsgeschwindigkeit ist die Geschwindigkeit mit der ein Körper sich um seine Achse dreht. Diese Geschwindigkeit entspricht dem Tempo mit dem sich ein Punkt des Äquators bei der Rotation bewegt.
Rotationsperiode
Die Rotationsperiode ist die Zeit, die ein Himmelskörper benötigt, um sich einmal vollständig um seine eigene Achse zu drehen. Eine synchrone Rotation ist gegeben, wenn die Rotationsperiode mit der Umlaufzeit übereinstimmt, d.h. der Himmelkörper dem Zentrum immer die gleiche Seite zeigt.
Scheinbare Helligkeit
Die scheinbare Helligkeit mvis eines Objekts ist die Helligkeit, unter der ein Objekt von der Erde aus wahrgenommen wird. Diese relative Helligkeitsangabe wird in Größenklassen angegeben.
Siderische Umlaufzeit
Die siderische Umlaufzeit beschreibt für einen Planeten, Asteroiden oder sonstigen Satelliten diejenige Zeit, die erforderlich ist, um einen Umlauf um seinen Zentralkörper relativ zu den Fixsternen zu vollziehen. Dies entspricht einem vollen Umlauf von 360° um den Zentralkörper.
Spektraltyp
Der Spektraltyp ist ein Klassifikationsschema von Sternen nach ihren Spektren. Im wesentlichen handelt es sich um eine Temperatursequenz, da die Oberflächentemperatur eines Sterns die Form seines Spektrums maßgeblich beeinflusst. Zusätzlich zum Spektraltyp wird oft auch die Leuchkraftklasse angegeben. Die Reihenfolge der Spektraltypen ist, von der heißesten zur kältesten Temperatur die Klassifikation O, B, A, F, G, K, M.
Synodische Umlaufzeit
Die synodische Umlaufzeit beschreibt für einen Planeten diejenige Zeit, die erforderlich ist, um aus Sicht der Erde dieselbe Position relativ zu den Fixsternen wieder einzunehmen.

Ich bin fr jede Korrektur oder sinnvolle Verbesserung der Beschreibung des Glossars dankbar, die mir als E-Mail an mich geschickt wird.
© 2017 by Bernd Onasch - Impressum Zum Seitenanfang gehen
Placeholder
Placeholder