Link to the start of the homepage Link to the overview over our solar system Link to the star Sun Link to the display of planets and satellites sorted by size Link to the spacecrafts Link to the references and resources Switch over to the german language Control the graphics effects Link to the imprint page Write an E-Mail to the author Minimize the title bar
sol mercury venus earth mars asteroid jupiter saturn uranus neptune pluto comet
Go to the bottom of the page
A small graphic for informations   The following list of astronomers did research the solar system and did discover planets, moons and asteroids. This list is not intended to be a complete list of all astronomers.
Adams, John Couch (1819 - 1892)
British mathematician and astronomer. John Adams predicted, like LeVerrier, the existence and position of the planet Neptune. Additionally, John Adams worked on correcting the theory and description of the motion of the Moon and also investigated meteor showers.
Aristarchus (~310 BC - ~230 BC)
Ancient greek mathematician and astronomer. Aristarchus is believed to be the first astronomer to state the theory of an heliocentric system long before Nicolas Copernicus. He also measured the distances from Earth to the Moon and to the Sun.
Barnard, Edward Emerson (1857 - 1923)
American astronomer. Edward Barnard was one of the pioneer in celestial photography. He discovered the fifth satellite of Jupiter in 1892, which was later named Amalthea. Barnards observations were important on clarifying the nature of the planetary rings. In the year 1916 he discovered the nearby star that was later named Barnards Star.
Bond, William Cranch (1789 - 1859)
American astronomer and clockmaker. William Bond was the first director of the Harvard College Obervatory and started extended observations of sunspots and the Orion Nebula in 1839. He discovered the satellite Hyperion while researching the ring system of Saturn.
Brahe, Tycho (1546 - 1601)
Danish astronomer. Tycho Brahe made the at his time most precise observations of planetary motion and discovered anomalies in planetary orbits. He provided the crucial data for later astronomers like Johannes Kepler to construct our present model of the solar system. Tycho Brahe himself did not accept the new plantary model described by Nicolas Copernicus.
Cassini, Giovanni Domenico (1625 - 1712)
French astronomer. Giovanni Cassini was the first director of the Paris Observatory. His extended planetary observations made the important discoveries of surface structure and rotation of Mars and Jupiter possible. Additionally, he discovered four satellites of Saturn (Iapetus, Rhea, Tethys, Dione). Giovanni Cassini discovered 1675 a gap in the ring system of Saturn, the socalled "Cassini Division".
Christy, James (1938 -)
American astronomer. Charon was discovered by James Christy in 1978 at the U.S. Naval Observatory. James Christy was observing irregularities on Pluto which later proved to be the new satellite Charon.
Copernicus, Nicolas (1473 - 1543)
German astronomer. Nicolas Copernicus published his fantastic work about the revolution of celestial bodies in 1543. Copernicus view of the world placed the Sun in at the centre of the universe and declared that Earth travels around the Sun once yearly. His theory was not perfect as he assumed circular orbits but was amended by Johannes Kepler later.
d'Arrest, Heinrich Louis (1822 - 1875)
German astronomer. Heinrich Louis d'Arrest and Johann Gottfried Galle were the first to observe the new planet Neptune. Heinrich Louis d'Arrest was an astronmer at the observatories of Leipzig and Kopenhagen were he researched distant galaxies.
Dollfus, Audouin Charles (1924 -)
French physicist and astronomer. Dollfus made the first ascent in a stratospheric balloon in France in order to pursue detailed investigations of Mars. Dollfus investigated the possibility and composition of an atmosphere of the Moon and of the planets Mercury and Saturn. In 1966 Dollfus discovered Janus, the innermost moon of Saturn.
Galilei, Galileo (1564 - 1642)
Italian physicist, mathematician and astronomer. Galileo Galilei improved the principles of the telescope invented by the dutchman Hans Lippershey. Using the new telescope Galilei observed the phases of the planet Venus and discovered the rings of Saturn. He also discovered the four large moons of Jupiter (Ganymede, Callisto, Io and Europe). Additionally he was a strong supporter of the new world view by Nicolas Copernicus, rejecting the old views of Ptolemaeus.
Galle, Johann Gottfried (1812 - 1910)
German astronomer. Johann Galle and Heinrich Louis d'Arrest were the first who observed the planet Neptune. His observations based on the predictions of Urbain LeVerrier. Even with Johann Galle being the first to observe and verify Neptune's position is its discovery normally associated with John Adams and Urbain LeVerrier who both predicted its position.
Gladman, Brett James (1966 -)
Canadian Astronomer and physicist. Brett Gladman ist best known as discoverer or co-discover of many astronomical bodies in the solar system. Among his discoveries are many smaller moons of Jupiter and Saturn, as well as some moons of Uranus (Caliban, Sycorax, Prospero, Setebos und Stephano). Brett Gladman is professor at the University of British Columbia's Department of Physics and Astronomy, in Vancouver, British Columbia.
Hall, Asaph (1829 - 1907)
American astronomer. Asaph Hall discovered the two martian moons Phobos and Deimos in 1877 while working for the US naval observatory. He also observed many other moons and Asteroids and calculated the distances of stars and double stars.
Herschel, Sir Friedrich William (1738 - 1822)
British astronomer and musician of german heritage. William Herschel discovered the planet Uranus in 1781. Additionally he discovered the moons Mimas and Enceladus of Saturn and the moons Titania and Oberon of Uranus. William Herschel wrote extended catalogues of nebulas and double stars. All these observations were only possible because he built himself large reflector telescopes.
Hipparchus (~160 BC - ~125 BC)
Ancient greek astronomer and mathematician. Hipparchus discovered the precession of the equinoxes and the eccentricity of the Sun's path and estimated the distances of the Sun and Moon from the Earth. His catalogue of 1080 stars was used as basis for Ptolemaeus star catalogue. Finally, he invented trigonometry.
Huygens, Christiaan (1629 - 1695)
Dutch physicist and mathematician. Christiaan Huygens established the wave theory of light and invented the pendulum clock. As an astronomer, he discovered the oblateness of Mars, the Orion Nebula and Titan, a satellite of Saturn.
Jewitt, David C. (1958 -)
British astronomer. David Jewitt is a Professor of astronomy at the University of Hawaii Institute for Astronomy. His research interests include the trans-Neptunian Solar System, Solar System formation and the physical properties of Comets. Additionally he was involved in the discovery of a number of smaller satellites of the planet Jupiter.
Kepler, Johannes (1571 - 1630)
German astronomer and mathematician. Johannes Kepler is famous for his three laws of planetary motion which replaced the circular orbits of Nicolas Copernicus by elliptic orbits. His extended observations, at the beginning as an assistant of Tycho Brahe, improved knowledge about calculation the planetary positions greatly.
Kowal, Charles Thomas (1940 -)
American astronomer. Charles Kowal discovered the satellites Leda and Themisto of Jupiter. He also discovered the first of the Asteroids of the Centaur classification, Chiron (2060). Themisto was rediscovered in 2000 by Sheppard.
Kuiper, Gerard Peter (1905 - 1975)
Dutch astronomer. Gerard Kuiper discovered two moons of Neptune, Miranda and Nereid. Additionally he improved the methods of analysis for planetary atmospheres and discovered the existence of methane on the satellite Titan.
Lassell, William (1799 - 1880)
British astronomer, originally a brewer. William Lassell discovered the moons Ariel and Umbriel of the planet Uranus and the satellite Triton of the planet Neptune. Additionally he discovered the satellite Hyperion of the planet Saturn, independent from and just a day after William Bond.
LeVerrier, Urbain Jean Joseph (1811 - 1877)
French astronomer. The predictions of LeVerrier about the position of an undiscovered planet influencing the orbit of the planet Uranus lead to a speedy search for this new planet. Johann Galle was the first to observe this new planet Neptune. The astronomer John Adams had carried out virtually identically calculations a few months before. Additionally Leverrier was instrumental in the establishment of a meteorological network across continental europe.
Lippershey, Hans (1570 - 1619)
Dutch eyeglass maker. Hans Lippershey invented, nearly at the same time like some others, the principle of telescope. Galileo Galilei improved the principles of Hans Lippershey shortly after his invention.
Marius, Simon (1573 - 1624)
German astronomer. Simon Marius or Mayr was the first to name the four large moons of Jupiter "Satellites" and provided the today known names Ganymede, Callisto, Io and Europe. Additionally he discovered the Andromeda Nebula in 1612 and observed the changes in luminance of stars.
Melotte, Philibert Jacques (1880 - 1961)
British astronomer of belgian immigrants. Philibert Melotte discovered in 1908 the satellite Pasiphae of Jupiter and in 1909 the asteroid Melitta. Additionally he created a catalogue of open clusers.
Neujmin, Grigoriy Nikolajewitsch (1886 - 1946)
Russian astronomer. Neujmin discovered alltogether 74 Asteroids, among them (951) Gaspra. He also discovered or co-discovered a number of periodic comets, including 25D/Neujmin, 28P/Neujmin, 42P/Neujmin, 57P/du Toit-Neujmin-Delporte and 58P/Jackson-Neujmin.
Newton, Sir Isaac (1643 - 1727)
British mathematician and physicist. Sir Isaac Newton invented what we till today know as classical mechanics. He also described universal gravitation and mathematically prooved Kepler's laws of planetary motion. He also investigated the refraction of light and invented a special refracting telescope.
Nicholson, Seth Barnes (1891 - 1963)
American astronomer. Seth Barnes Nicholson discovered the new satellite Sinope while observing Jupiter and the previously discovered satellite Pasiphae. Later, working at the Mount Wilson Observatory, he discovered the moons Lysithea, Carme and Ananke of Jupiter.
Olbers, Heinrich Wilhelm (1758 - 1840)
German physician, physicist.and astronomer. Heinrich Wilhelm Olbers developed methods to determinate the orbit of celestial bodies. He also discovered the Asteroids Pallas and Vesta and six Comets and formulated the Olbers' Paradoxon.
Perrine, Charles Dillon (1867 - 1951)
Argentinian-american astronomer. Charles Perrine was staff member of the Lick Observatory and became later director of the Argentine National Oberservatory. He discovered the moons Himalia and Elara of Jupiter. Additionally he researched Comets and discovered some new Comets.
Piazzi, Giuseppe (1746 - 1826)
Italian astronomer, mathematician and monk. Guiseppe Piazzi studied theology and philosophy. In 1781, Piazzi became director of the newly founded observatory in Palermo. He discovered the first asteroid of the solar system in 1801 which got named Ceres.
Pickering, William Henry (1858 - 1938)
American astronomer. William Pickering discovered the satellite Phoebe of Saturn. Additionally, William Pickering calculated and researched theories on probabilities of planets beyond Neptune.
Ptolemaeus, Claudius (~85 - ~165)
Ancient greek geographer, astronomer and mathematician. Claudius Ptolemaeus founded the occidental world view with his work "Almagest" and influenced this world view till the late middle ages. His modell of the geocentric universe, the ptolemaeic world view, was based on the opinion that all heavenly bodies have to orbit Earth.
Terrile, Richard John (1951 -)
American astronomer. Richard Terrile works as astronomer at the JPL for the NASA. He was semifinalist and candidate for astronaut for the SkyLab mission. As a member of the Voyager Imaging Team he dicovered the satellite Atlas of Jupiter, the satellites Cordelia and Ophelia of Uranus and the satellites Naiad and Thalassa of Neptune.
Tombaugh, Clyde William (1906 - 1997)
American astronomer. Clyde Tombaugh discovered the planet Pluto in 1930 with working at the Lowell Observatory in Flagstaff. After his discovery of Pluto Tombaugh examined over 90 million star maps for 13 years but did not discover any other planet.
© 2018 by Bernd Onasch - Imprint Go to the top of the page

Astronomen
Verweis auf den Anfang der Homepage Verweis auf die Übersicht über unser Sonnensystem Verweis auf den Stern Sonne Verweis auf die Anzeige der Planeten und Satelliten sortiert nach Größe Verweis auf die Raumsonden Verweis auf den Quellennachweis Wechseln zur englischen Sprache ndern der grafischen Effekte Verweis auf das Impressum E-Mail an den Autor schreiben Titelleiste verkleinern
sol mercury venus earth mars asteroid jupiter saturn uranus neptune pluto comet
Astronomen
Zum Seitenende gehen
Placeholder
Placeholder
Eine kleine Grafik zur Information   Die folgenden Astronomen und Persnlichkeiten waren bei der Erforschung des Sonnensystems und der Entdeckung von Planeten, Monden und Asteroiden mageblich beteiligt. Die Aufzhlung erhebt keinerlei Anspruch auf Vollstndigkeit.
Adams, John Couch (1819 - 1892)
Britischer Mathematiker und Astronom. John Adams sagte, genau wie LeVerrier, die Existenz und Position des Planeten Neptun voraus. John Adams überarbeitete weiterhin die Bewegungstheorie vom Mond und untersuchte Meteoritenschauer.
Aristarchus (~310 BC - ~230 BC)
Griechischer Mathematiker und Astronom. Von Aristarchus wird angenommen, daß er als erster Astronom, noch vor Nicolas Copernicus, die Theorie des heliozentrischen Weltbildes vertrat. Er bestimmte weiterhin die Entfernung zum Mond und die Entfernung von der Erde zur Sonne.
Barnard, Edward Emerson (1857 - 1923)
Amerikanischer Astronom. Edward Barnard war einer der Pioniere der Astrophotographie. Im Jahr 1892 entdeckte Barnard den fünften Satelliten des Planeten Jupiter, der später den Namen Amalthea bekam. Barnards Beobachtungen des Saturn halfen deutlich bei der Klärung der Natur der Ringe des Planeten. Im Jahr 1916 entdeckte er den nach ihm benannten Barnards Stern.
Bond, William Cranch (1789 - 1859)
Amerikanischer Astronom und Uhrmacher. Als erster Direktor des Harvard College Observatoriums nahm William Bond ab 1839 ausführliche Beobachtungen der Sonnenflecken und des Orionnebels vor. Weiterhin entdeckte er bei seinen Beobachtungen des Saturn den Satelliten Hyperion.
Brahe, Tycho (1546 - 1601)
Dänischer Astronom. Tycho Brahe nahm äußerst umfangreiche Beobachtungen der Planetenpositionen vor und entdeckte dabei zuvor nie festgestellte Anomalien der Umlaufbahnen. Ohne diese Beobachtungen hätte Johannes Kepler seine Planetengesetze nicht formulieren können. Tycho Brahe selbst akzeptierte das neue Weltbild von Nicolas Copernicus nicht.
Cassini, Giovanni Domenico (1625 - 1712)
Französischer Astronom. Giovanni Cassini war der erste Direktor des Pariser Observatoriums. Seine ausführlichen Planetenbeobachtungen resultierten in wichtigen Entdeckungen der Oberflächen und Rotation des Mars und des Jupiters. Weiterhin entdeckte er vier Monde des Saturn (Iapetus, Rhea, Tethys, Dione). Im Jahr 1675 entdeckte Giovanni Cassini eine Lücke im Ringsystem des Saturn, die "Cassini Lücke".
Christy, James (1938 -)
Amerikanischer Astronom. James Christy entdeckte während seiner Arbeiten am Marineobservatorium im Jahre 1978 zur Untersuchung des Pluto Unregelmäßigkeiten, die sich dann als der neue Satellit Charon herausstellten.
Copernicus, Nicolas (1473 - 1543)
Deutscher Astronom. Nicolas Copernicus revolutionierte im Jahr 1543 mit seinem Werk über die Umläufe der Himmelskörper das Weltbild. Copernicus heliozentrisches Weltbild setzte statt der Erde die Sonne ins Zentrum des Planetensystems. Seine Theorie war aufgrund der Annahme kreisförmiger Umlaufbahnen nicht perfekt, wurde aber durch die Gesetze von Johannes Kepler behoben.
d'Arrest, Heinrich Louis (1822 - 1875)
Deutscher Astronom. Zusammen mit Johann Gottfried Galle beobachtete Heinrich Louis d'Arrest als erster den neuen Planeten Neptun. Heinrich Louis d'Arrest war als Astronom an den Observatorien in Leipzig und Kopenhagen tätig, wo er entfernte Galaxien erforschte.
Dollfus, Audouin Charles (1924 -)
Franösischer Physiker und Astronom. Dollfus war der erste in Frankreich, der mit einem Stratosphärenballon aufstieg, um den Mars zu erforschen. Audouin Dollfus untersuchte die Möglichkeit der Existenz sowie die Zusammensetzung einer Atmosphäre vom Mond und den Planeten Merkur und Saturn. Im Jahr 1966 entdeckte Dollfus Janus, den Satelliten mit der geringsten Entfernung zum Saturn.
Galilei, Galileo (1564 - 1642)
Italienischer Physiker, Mathematiker und Astronom. Galileo Galilei verbesserte das Prinzip des vom Holländer Hans Lippershey erfundenen Teleskops, mit dem er die Phasen der Venus untersuchte sowie die Ringe des Saturn und die vier großen Monde des Jupiter (Ganymede, Callisto, Io und Europa) entdeckte. Weiterhin setzte er sich sehr stark für das neue Weltbild von Nicolas Copernicus ein und war damit gegen das vorherrschende Weltbild von Ptolemaeus.
Galle, Johann Gottfried (1812 - 1910)
Deutscher Astronom. Johann Galle beobachtete zusammen mit Heinrich Louis d'Arrest als Erster den Planeten Neptun. Seine Beobachtungen basierten auf den Berechnungen von Urbain LeVerrier. Obwohl Johann Galle der erste Mensch war, der Neptun beobachtete, wird seine Entdeckung normalerweise John Adams und Urbain LeVerrier, die die Position berechneten, zugeschrieben.
Gladman, Brett James (1966 -)
Kanadischer Astronom und Physiker. Brett Gladman hat zahlreiche lichtschwache Himmelskörper des Sonnensystems entdeckt oder war an deren Entdeckung beteiligt, darunter mehrere kleine Monde des Jupiter und des Saturn sowie die Monde des Uranus (Caliban, Sycorax, Prospero, Setebos und Stephano). Brett Gladman ist Professor für Physik und Astronomie an der Universität von British Columbia in Vancouver, Kanada.
Hall, Asaph (1829 - 1907)
Amerikanischer Astronom, der bei seiner Arbeit für das amerikanische Marineobservatorium im Jahr 1877 die beiden Monde des Mars, Phobos und Deimos, entdeckte. Asaph Hall beobachtete zahlreiche weitere Monde und Asteroiden und bestimmte Sternentfernungen und Abstände von Doppelsternen.
Herschel, Sir Friedrich William (1738 - 1822)
Britischer Astronom und Musiker deutscher Herkunft. William Herschel entdeckte den Planeten Uranus im Jahr 1781. Weiterhin entdeckte er jeweils zwei Satelliten in der Umlaufbahn des Saturn (Mimas und Enceladus) und des Uranus (Titania und Oberon) und erstellte ausführliche Kataloge von Nebeln und Doppelsternen. Die Beobachtungen wurden durch den eigenhändigen Bau großer Spiegelteleskope ermöglicht.
Hipparchus (~160 BC - ~125 BC)
Griechischer Astronom und Mathematiker. Hipparchus entdeckte die Präzision und Exzentrizität der Bahn der Sonne und bestimmte die Entfernungen der Sonne und vom Mond zur Erde. Sein Katalog mit 1080 Sternen diente als Basis für den Sternkatalog von Ptolemaeus. Abschließend ist er der Erfinder der Trigonometrie.
Huygens, Christiaan (1629 - 1695)
Holländischer Physiker und Mathematiker. Christiaan Huygens begründete die Wellenlehre des Lichtes und erfand die Pendeluhren. Als Astronom entdeckte er die Abplattung des Mars, den Orionnebel und einen Satelliten des Saturn, den Titan.
Jewitt, David C. (1958 -)
Britischer Astronom. David Jewitt ist Professor für Astronomie an der University of Hawaii. Seine Forschungen beschäftigen sich insbesondere mit den Objekten des äußeren Sonnensystems und den physikalischen Eigenschaften von Kometen. Darüber hinaus war er an der Entdeckung mehrerer kleiner Monde des Planeten Jupiter beteiligt.
Kepler, Johannes (1571 - 1630)
Deutscher Astronom und Mathematiker. Johannes Kepler wurde unter anderem durch seine drei Gesetze der Planetenbewegung berühmt, die die kreisförmigen Umlaufbahnen von Nicolas Copernicus durch elliptische Umlaufbahnen ersetzten. Seine umfangreichen Beobachtungen, anfangs als Assistent von Tycho Brahe, verbesserten weiterhin das Wissen zur Positionsbestimmung der Planeten.
Kowal, Charles Thomas (1940 -)
Amerikanischer Astronom. Charles Kowal entdeckte die Satelliten Leda und Themisto des Planeten Jupiter und den ersten Asteroiden der Centauren-Klasse, Chiron (2060). Themisto wurde im Jahr 2000 von Sheppard wiederentdeckt.
Kuiper, Gerard Peter (1905 - 1975)
Holländischer Astronom. Gerard Kuiper entdeckte zwei Monde des Neptun, Miranda und Nereid. Weiterhin verbesserte er die Analyseverfahren von Planetenatmosphären und entdeckte als Erster die Existenz von Methan auf dem Trabanten Titan.
Lassell, William (1799 - 1880)
Britischer Astronom, ursprünglich ein Brauer. William Lassell entdeckte die Monde Ariel und Umbriel des Planeten Uranus und den Satelliten Triton des Planeten Neptun. Weiterhin entdeckte er, nur einen Tag nach und unabhängig von William Bond, den Satelliten Hyperion des Saturn.
LeVerrier, Urbain Jean Joseph (1811 - 1877)
Französischer Astronom. Die Vorhersagen von LeVerrier zur Position eines unentdeckten Planeten, der die Bahnstörungen des Planeten Uranus verursacht, sorgten für eine zügig vorgenommene Suche nach diesem neuen Planeten, den Johann Galle dann als Erster sah. Der Astronom John Adams stellte ähnliche Berechnungen zur Vorhersage einige Monate zuvor an. Weiterhin war es Urbain LeVerrier, der für die Entstehung eines Netzwerks zur Wettervorhersage in Europe sorgte.
Lippershey, Hans (1570 - 1619)
Holländischer Brillenmacher. Hans Lippershey erfand nahezu zeitgleich mit anderen das Prinzip des Teleskops, das kurz darauf von Galileo Galilei verbessert wurde.
Marius, Simon (1573 - 1624)
Deutscher Astromon. Simon Marius bzw. Mayr nannte die vier großen Monde des Jupiter erstmals "Satelliten" und gab ihnen die heute gebräuchlichen Namen Ganymede, Callisto, Io und Europa. Weiterhin entdeckte er im Jahr 1612 den Andromedanebel und beobachtete die Helligkeitveränderungen der Sterne.
Melotte, Philibert Jacques (1880 - 1961)
Britischer Astronom belgischer Einwanderer. Philibert Melotte entdeckte 1908 den Satelliten Pasiphae des Planeten Jupiter und 1909 den Asteroiden Melitta. Er erstellte weiterhin einen Katalog offener Sternhaufen.
Neujmin, Grigoriy Nikolajewitsch (1886 - 1946)
Russischer Astronom. Neujmin entdeckte insgesamt 74 Asteroiden, darunter auch (951) Gaspra. Er war darüber hinaus Entdecker oder Co-Entdecker mehrerer periodisch wiederkehrender Kometen, darunter 25D/Neujmin, 28P/Neujmin, 42P/Neujmin, 57P/du Toit-Neujmin-Delporte und 58P/Jackson-Neujmin.
Newton, Sir Isaac (1643 - 1727)
Britischer Mathematiker und Physiker. Sir Isaac Newton erfand die bis heute gültige klassische Mechanik. Weiterhin beschrieb er die allgemeine Schwerkraft und bewies mathematisch Kepler's Regeln der Planetenbewegung. Weiterhin untersuchte er die Lichtbrechung und erfand eine Form des Telekops.
Nicholson, Seth Barnes (1891 - 1963)
Amerikanischer Astronom. Seth Barnes Nicholson entdeckte bei Beobachtungen des Jupiter und dem zuvor entdeckten Satelliten Pasiphae einen weiteren Satelliten, Sinope. Später entdeckte er, am Mount Wilson Observatorium arbeitend, drei weitere Monde des Jupiter, Lysithea, Carme und Ananke.
Olbers, Heinrich Wilhelm (1758 - 1840)
Deutscher Arzt und Astronom. Heinrich Wilhelm Olbers entwickelte Methoden zur Bahnbestimmung von Himmelskörpern, entdeckte die Asteroiden Pallas und Vesta sowie sechs Kometen und formulierte das Olberssche Paradoxon.
Perrine, Charles Dillon (1867 - 1951)
Argentinisch-Amerikanischer Astronom. Charles Perrine war im Stab des Lick Observatoriums und später Direktor des Nationalen Argentinischen Observatoriums. Er entdeckte die Monde Himalia und Elara des Planeten Jupiter. Weiterhin erforschte er die Kometen und entdeckte dabei einige neue Kometen.
Piazzi, Giuseppe (1746 - 1826)
Italienischer Astronom, Mathematiker und Theologe. Guiseppe Piazzi studierte Theologie und Philosophie und wurde 1781 Direktor der neu gegründeten Sternwarte in Palermo. 1801 entdeckte er den ersten Asteroiden Ceres des Sonnensystems.
Pickering, William Henry (1858 - 1938)
Amerikanischer Astronom. William Pickering entdeckte den Satelliten Phoebe des Saturn. Weiterhin führte William Pickering vor der Entdeckung des Planeten Pluto ausführliche theoretische Untersuchungen zur Existenz von Planeten jenseits des Neptun durch.
Ptolemaeus, Claudius (~85 - ~165)
Griechischer Geograph, Astronom und Mathematiker. Claudius Ptolemaeus prägte mit seinem Werk "Almagest" die abendländische Weltanschauung bis ins späte Mittelalter. Sein Modell des geozentrischen Universums, dem ptolemäischen Weltbild, begründete sich auf der Meinung, daß alle Himmelskörper um die Erde rotieren müßten.
Terrile, Richard John (1951 -)
Amerikanischer Astronom. Richard Terrile arbeitet als Astronom am JPL für die NASA und war in der Auswahl als möglicher Astronaut für SkyLab. Als Mitglied des Voyager Imaging Team entdeckte er den Satelliten Atlas des Jupiter, die Satelliten Cordelia und Ophelia des Uranus und die Satelliten Naiad und Thalassa des Neptun.
Tombaugh, Clyde William (1906 - 1997)
Amerikanischer Astronom. Clyde Tombaugh entdeckte im Jahr 1930 während seiner Arbeit am Lowell Observatorium in Flagstaff den Planeten Pluto. Nach der Entdeckung des Pluto untersuchte Tombaugh weitere 13 Jahre lang über 90 Millionen Sternkarten, fand jedoch keinen weiteren Planeten.
© 2017 by Bernd Onasch - Impressum Zum Seitenanfang gehen
Placeholder
Placeholder